the thought of you


Drummer Otis Brown III – an invaluable sideman with the likes of Esperanza Spalding, Joe Lovano, Terence Blanchard, Oliver Lake, Somi, and others – has announced the release of his debut album ‘The Thought of You’, which will arrive September 23 via Revive/Blue Note, a new partnership between Revive Music and Blue Note Records. The first single taken from the album “The Thought Of You Pt. 1” featuring Bilal debuted this week on Billboard.

Brown’s maiden voyage features an impressive roll call of artists including a core band consisting of pianist Robert Glasper, trumpeter Keyon Harrold, saxophonist John Ellis, and bassist Ben Williams, with organist Shedrick Mitchell and guitarist Nir Felder making special appearances. Singers Bilal, Gretchen Parlato, and Nikki Ross contribute standout performances that underscore the sentiments of the album’s co-producer, Derrick Hodge, who says, “Otis has become one of those drummers who once you hear him play, his experience becomes your experience in the moment.” (read more on Blue Note Records)

Pre-order now on iTunes – see the entire tracklist after the jump.

1. The Way (Truth & Life)
2. The Thought of You – Part I featuring Bilal
3. Interlude I – Truth
4. Stages of Thought
5. The Two Become One (For Paula)
6. You’re Still The One featuring Gretchen Parlato
7. The Thought of You – Part II
8. I Love You Lord/We Exalt Thee/In The Beginning featuring Nikki Ross
9. The Thought of You – Part III
10. I Am Your Song featuring Nikki Ross
11. Interlude II – Life

Facebook | Twitter | Blue Note


This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :
Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner